abdominal quadrant

abdominal quadrant

The abdominal quadrant is one of 4 areas of the body . It is important to know which organs are contained within each quadrant. It is vital to know where to avoid deep pressure as well as understand the significance of the location of pain.

The upper left quadrant contains the stomach, spleen, liver, pancreas, kidney and adrenal gland.

The upper right quadrant contains the liver, gallbladder, duodenum, kidney and adrenal gland

The lower left quadrant contains the spleen, intestines, pancreas, stomach and the left kidney

The lower right quadrant contains the ascending colon, the cecum, the right ovary and fallopian tube, the right ureter and most notably, the appendix.

If abdominal pain or signs of peritonitis are localised in the lower left quadrant, colitis, diverticulitis, ureteral colic or pain due to ovarian cysts or pelvic inflammatory disease may be suspected. Examples of tumors in the left lower quadrant include colon cancer and ovarian tumor.

The upper left quadrant may be painful or tender in the case of intestinal malrotation. The upper right quadrant may be painful or tender in hepatitis, cholecystitis, and peptic ulcer. The lower right quadrant may be painful and/or tender in such conditions as appendicitis.

abdominal quadrant
abdominal quadrants

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *